2017 Western Amateur field announced

GOLF, IL (July 6, 2017) – Every one of the world’s top 10 ranked amateur golfers are expected to compete at Skokie Country Club in Glencoe, Illinois, the first week in August for a place in golfing history alongside Jack Nicklaus, Phil Mickelson and Tiger Woods as winners of the Western Amateur. 

Set to tee off July 31, the 115th Western Amateur will feature a stacked field that includes reigning Western Amateur champion and University of Illinois standout Dylan Meyer; current World No. 1 and 2017 NCAA Division I National Champion Braden Thornberry of Ole Miss; Cal All-American Collin Morikawa; 2014 Western Amateur medalist and 2017 Big-12 Player of the Year Doug Ghim; Ghim’s Texas teammate and 2017 U.S. Open low amateur Scottie Scheffler; and international star Kyle McClatchie of South Africa.

2017 U.S. Open qualifiers Cameron Champ and Joaquin Niemann; 2017 SEC Player of the Year Sam Burns; and Illinois standout Nick Hardy round out the rest of the top-ranked players in the Scratch Players World Amateur Ranking expected to compete for the coveted George R. Thorne Trophy.

In addition to scores of collegiate All-Americans, top-ranked juniors and up-and-coming international stars, former Dallas Cowboys quarterback Tony Romo also has committed to compete.

“This is an exceptionally deep and talented field,” said Vince Pellegrino, WGA Senior Vice President of Tournaments. “We strive each year to attract the best amateur players in the world, and we’re excited that so many of them want to play in our event this year and test the iconic course at Skokie Country Club.”

Founded in 1899, the Western Amateur is the world’s third oldest amateur championship behind the British Amateur (1885) and the U.S. Amateur (1895), and regularly attracts on the top amateur players from across the country and around the world.

The Western Amateur first visited Skokie in 2010 when former Stanford All-American David Chung bested a field that included future PGA TOUR stars Jordan Spieth and Patrick Reed to win the coveted Thorne Trophy. Skokie was the second Chicagoland club to host the Western Amateur when it returned to Illinois after a 38-year stint at Point O’ Woods Golf & Country Club in Benton Harbor, Michigan.

Skokie Country Club is enthusiastically looking forward to hosting the 115th Western Amateur Championship this summer,” said Peter Mone, a WGA Director from Skokie and co-chairman of the event.

“Knowing that future professional champions are likely to be in the field has heightened the enthusiasm of the Skokie membership,” added Tom Mallman, who also serves as a WGA Director at Skokie and is co-chairman. “Peter and I feel honored and privileged to act as co-chairs of this great championship and excitedly look forward to the event.”

Skokie Country Club is listed among Golfweek Magazine’s Top 100 Classic courses. Founded as a nine-hole club in 1897, the core of Skokie’s current routing was laid out by legendary golf course architect Donald Ross.

In addition to the 2010 Western Amateur, Skokie has hosted the 1909 Western Open, the 1922 U.S. Open, the 1998 U.S. Senior Amateur, as well as a number of qualifiers for major USGA events.

Skokie also was among the original 11 charter clubs that established the WGA in 1899 to help spread the game of golf across the Midwest. Only seven still exist.

Skokie has been a steadfast supporter of the Evans Scholars Foundation, a nonprofit established by the Western Golf Association that has awarded full college tuition and housing scholarships to more than 10,400 caddies since 1930.

Thirty-two of those caddies were from Skokie, beginning with Louis Misantoni, who earned an Evans Scholarship in 1953 to attend Northwestern University. Eight are currently enrolled in school.

To view the full 2017 Western Amateur field, visit www.thewesternamateur.com/field.